2016, My Journey, Personal Growth & Development

Walk Before Me And Be Made Perfect

learning to walk

stepped out on my front porch this morning to enjoy the stillness and quiet of a new day. “Thank you Lord,” I whispered quietly, as a way of starting my day with thankfulness.

I suddenly envisioned a little child and an adult. The adult was looking back remembering that safe and secure feeling of being a little child. Safe in the arms of a loving parent. Then I heard in my heart, “Walk before me and be made perfect.” It’s the instruction given to Abraham by God as recorded in the Christian Bible. Those words have rang in my ears for years, and speak of maturity.

As a child, we are pretty much carried everywhere in the arms of our parents. Everything we need is provided. As we start walking on our own, the parental safety zone is usually just on the heels of mom or dad. We eventually graduate to walking beside mom and dad, or an arm’s length away; but always within reach or sight.

Then comes the time where we walk out in front; way out in front.College, marriage, career, then the other side of the world. We are still with them, but no longer not with them.

This is when maturity begins to blossom.

I believe God was saying to Abraham, “The time is now for you to grow up and lead the way. You don’t always have to cling to my side. I am yours and you are mine. Although we aren’t together like we used to be, we are never separated either. The time has come for you to walk out in front of me. Use what I’ve given you. Become who I’ve made you to be. I will always be here for you. I will never leave you or forsake you, but it’s your time now.”

Even as a grown adult with kids of my own, there are days I wish I could curl up in the arms of my mom or dad, feel their warm embrace, and hear those comforting words, “everything is going to be ok.”

Growing up can be scary, even for grown ups.

Growing up means walking out in front, leading the way, determining for yourself who you are and what you want out of life. No longer spoon fed. No one but you telling you what you can or cannot do. No more hiding in the shadows, behind the perceived safety and security of mom or dad or even God — walk before me and made perfect.

Do you find yourself in a place of uncertainty? Has maturity become scary? Ever wonder whether you can even make it through life? I don’t think you are alone.

Try spending the first part of each day being thankful. Spend time with God; with something bigger than yourself. Allow the Universe to gently remind you that everything is going to be ok. And then take that step. It’s the journey that matures us. Trust that you are being made perfect as you walk out yours.

Walk in front and be made perfect.

Leave a Reply

