2016, My Journey

Afraid of Freedom?

freedom

Freedom. What is it? Where did it come from? Who invented it? Is slavery a prerequisite?

I desire freedom, but too often find myself afraid of what total freedom would do to me. Who would I become?

If it’s true that money only makes me more of who I really am, what would freedom do to me?

Would I ‘backslide’ or leave everyone I love. Would I morph into a some monster? Would I turn on people? Would I sell my soul to the devil?

Not knowing holds me prisoner. 

How can I be afraid of the very thing I seek most?

  • If I answered to no one, could do whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted, and with whomever I wanted to, what would I do?
  • If I had no place to go except for where I wanted to go, where would I go?
  • If I were my only guide, where would I lead myself? Who would I ask to join me on my journey?
  • If I, only I, were in complete and total charge of my life, who would I be?

If I’m afraid to be free, I’m afraid to be me. If I’m afraid to be me, I don’t truly know myself. – Jeff Crume

Afraid of freedom?

No! If free, I would emerge.

I would revert to my previous state of being, before the foundation of the earth, which is pure, holy, just, upright, loving, righteous, complete, unconditionally free.

In freedom, I would touch the world with goodness.

I would bind up the brokenhearted, proclaim liberty to the captives, open the prison doors to them that are bound. Give beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning and the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness. 

I would be free because I would be me with no pretense.

#freedom

2 thoughts on “Afraid of Freedom?”

  1. Freedom, is where I am most alive. I experience it a lot these days and it has little to do with money. The question: Is slavery a prerequisite? For me I guess it was because had I not felt confined to my idea of what living was, I guess I wouldn’t have questioned why I felt so empty.
    When I am in the right space, I soar. I can imagine how the eagle feels and it’s the most amazing part of my journey. For me it took a lot of trusting and believing in a power that is greater than me, and who wants the very best for me.
    I think Toni Morrison put it best, “Freedom is waking up in the morning and deciding for yourself what to do with the day.”
    -W38

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

