My Journey

Forgiveness is Not Religious

Forgiveness

Roger’s dying wish was to make amends with his estranged daughter. They had a falling out over money years prior and never really reconciled. They were “speaking” but never “talking.” I shared with Roger and his wife the importance of forgiveness.

“Forgiveness frees our soul, while unforgiveness torments our soul.”

There’s nothing more important than reconciling with a person while the person you are estranged from is still living. Even if they don’t receive what you have to offer, your peace offering alters the course of your life; and their’s, forever.

Remember, forgiveness isn’t about the other person; it’s about you.

I offered to talk with their daughter to help mediate. What Roger said to me next, changed my course of my thinking about forgiveness forever.

“You could talk with her, but let me tell you right up front, she’s not very religious.”

That was what he said to me, “She’s not very religious.” That’s when my own idea of forgiveness changed.

I immediately heard in my heart, “Forgiveness is not religious; it’s human.”

As a society, we’ve come to leave life-forming qualities like character, forgiveness, human decency, and morality to religion. Forgiveness is not religious; it’s human. It’s human to forgive one another; at least it should be.

Forgiveness alters the course of one’s chemistry, frees the human soul, wards off sickness and disease, and allows the brightest of Light to shine through our being.

If you are still clutching the chorus of the “someone did me wrong” song, do yourself and the world a favor. Push past pride and selfishness to resolve the matter at hand.

Confront what’s weighing down your soul. “Don’t let the sun go down on your wrath,” as my mom always told me. Forgive, and ask for forgiveness.

Forgiveness is not religious; it’s human.

 

1 thought on “Forgiveness is Not Religious”

Leave a Reply

