Life Lessons, My Journey, Prophesy

Your Labor Is Not In Vain

i-shall-not-live-in-vain

Can you imagine getting pregnant, living through nine glorious and agonizing months of being with child, going into labor, but never giving birth?

Seekers of truth, destiny chasers, people of purpose will face this crossroad at one time or another: Have I done all of this for nothing? 

Many times on our journey to self discovery and fulfillment, we think we have “arrived,” only to discover there is another door, another lesson, another level, another teacher, another… The obvious, and just, question to finally ask is, “Is my labor in vain?”

You can only live so long without producing what you were designed to produce. – Jeff Crume

In vain means without success or result. The road to success is brutal. It can leave you scared and wondering if your day will ever come. But you can only live so long without producing what you were designed to produce. It’s not a matter of if, it’s only a matter of when.

I encourage you today to believe that everything you’ve been through, up to this point in your life, has not been in vain. Not one tear, not one drop of blood or sweat that you have shed along your journey has been wasted.

There is a spiritual principle that declares, “Your labor in the Lord is not in vain.” Many of the early christians heard of a land afar off. They clung to the promise of a better life, but never saw that promise fulfilled in their lifetime. Generation after generation held to the same promise without result.

But remember, the result doesn’t nullify the promise. We might not understand it, but even our understanding doesn’t validate or invalidate the principle.

It was said of the Christian patriarch, Abraham, that when he had lost all hope, he hoped on in hope. Wow!

I suited up, showed up, gave it my all, and still feel I’ve fallen short. I’ve believed, actualized, quoted, mediated, cleansed, and hugged my way to this point, only to realize I AM STILL NOT who I know I can be.

What do you do when you arrive at the place you thought your were designed for only to feel empty, still!?

You begin to question your very existence. You doubt in your beliefs and believe in your doubts. You question your Creator. You argue with the Universe. You start cursing your birth. You hate everyone else around you who seems to have found their pot of gold while you are still in the land of barrenness.

But Child of Destiny, DON’T QUIT Just Yet!

You have just made it through your bawling and squalling phase. You’re still sucking breath on this spinning blue planet, and there IS still hope.

The only thing that Hope asks of you today is to hope in it again!

Abraham “hoped on in hope.” He hoped that there was even a thing called hope. (Desperate times call for desperate measures.) It was his act of hoping in hope that causes his labor not to be in vain.

I encourage you, friend, YOUR LABOR IS NOT IN VAIN!

  • REST these few last days between years. The old is getting ready to be behind you.
  • NEW is waiting for you to strap your legs on both sides and go for the ride of your life.
  • WHAT you’ve been through was not able to destroy you, or you wouldn’t be reading this post right now!
  • YOU are stronger than you think.
  • You are a WINNER going someplace to happen.
  • EVERYTHING you’ve been through up to this point was to make you who you are.

NOW! Wipe the dust off! Pick up your sword and shield, and get back in the battle! Don’t sneak in the back of the line either. GET BACK UP IN FRONT! Take your RIGHTFUL place! That’s where you belong! You were born for this! Your Labor is not in vain!

Let these words from the late Og Mandino ring in your New Year.

“I will persist until I succeed.

I was not delivered into this world in defeat, nor does failure course in my veins. I am not a sheep waiting to be prodded by my shepherd. I am a lion and I refuse to talk, to walk, to sleep with the sheep.

The slaughterhouse of failure is not my destiny.

I will persist until I succeed.”

Leave a Reply

