Encouragement, Higher Thinking, Hope, My Journey, San Bernardino Shooting, School Lockdown

“Are You ok? We are on lockdown”

School+Lockdown14

“You ok? We are on secure campus (doors locked) and don’t know why.”

I received that text from my wife yesterday afternoon. In light of the recent San Bernardino shooting, I was a bit numb at first; “Is this just a drill, or is this real? How serious is this? Could this be really happening to me? Will my wife and children be ok?” The questions and emotions started racing through me.

I called the school right away only to be informed that it wasn’t a drill, and that the school was on lockdown. I searched the internet to find reports of a suspect wanted by police who was sited in the area of our school and, as a precaution, the schools in that area were on lockdown.

I text my wife and oldest daughter back to update them. With in a few minutes, I received a text message back saying they had been cleared; that the police had caught the suspect.


I’ve lived in this town for over fifteen years. Our kids have gone to the same school for thirteen of those fifteen years, and NEVER have we had such an incident.

Right here I could start ranting on how “bad” the world is becoming, how horrible humanity is, and how close “the end” is. But, you know what? This world is all I have, and Humanity, regardless of how bad or horrible I may think is, I’m a part of humanity, and I have to live with them the rest of my life.

I drove straight to the school to hold my kids and hug my wife; all was well.

I drove back to the office pondering this:

You don’t know. No one knows. Will the next threat be another San Bernardino? Will the lives of those I love be somehow destroyed? Will my own life be destroyed by the foolishness of fellow humanity? I don’t know. You don’t know. No one knows. Some say they know, but no one really knows. Predictions are only a portion of the clearer, bigger, picture.

I can say this, if I stop right here, I will live the rest of my life in fear. I will always be looking over my shoulder wondering if, or when, tragedy will strike.

Terrorism isn’t about killing anyone, it’s about striking fear in everyone. I don’t know what will happen tomorrow; no one does. But I can BELIEVE that, regardless, my best, humanity’s best, our world’s best, your best, is yet to come.

If death precedes life, if it get’s worse before getting better, if unless a grain of wheat falls into the ground and dies, it remains alone. But if it dies, it produces a lot of grain, then I must BELIEVE that the best is yet to come.

I don’t know. You don’t know. No one knows. But you can BELIEVE. Belief is a choice; a choice that produces hope, and hope acknowledges that the worst exists, but chooses to believe and see that in the midst of evil, good will prevail.

Who determines what your tomorrow will be like?

You do. Will you live in fear? Will you allow the foolishness and senselessness of a few dictate the rest of your life, or will you choose to believe that your best, the world’s best, that humanity’s best, is yet to come?

I recognize our world is changing and that the threat of tragedy is very real and seems to be increasing everywhere. However, I choose to believe that our best is yet to come. I set my sites on things that are above and not beneath. I vote hope. I vote love. Will you join me?

Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

 

Leave a Reply

