Business Growth Strategy, Change, Crossroads, empowerment, Encouragement, My Journey

A Note to Myself When Nothing Works

Nothing is working! That’s been my life’s story for an extremely long time now. No relationship, no association, no idea, no effort has worked in helping me change my situation. I look like a fool to many looking in from the outside. Heck, I even feel like a fool most of the time. BUT STILL, deep down inside myself – deep down, something is directing me. 

When all else feels like it’s falling a part, there’s a still small quiet subtle leading nudging me – “don’t do that, do this. Don’t go there, go here. Don’t say that, say this.” 

It appears to be leading me – but where? I just don’t know right now. I feel like I’m groping in the dark. If I’m going to make it to the other side of this – which I will – here are a few things I must keep in mind. 

1. I’m Being Led, or Allowed to Go, Here 

If I’ve gleaned anything about his past season, I must conclude that I’ve been led here, or I’ve been allowed to go here. If my life and destiny are truly in the hands of The Divine, then where I’m at is no surprise to My Creator. Where can I go without His allowance? 

2. Here Is Ok

Here is not bad. Where I’m at, even as far away as I think it is from where I think I’m supposed to be, is ok. I’m not “wrong.” I haven’t “fallen away.” I’m right where I’m supposed to be. My steps are ordered. 

3. There’s Meaning to Being Here

Believing there’s meaning and purpose to here, is the only thing that helps me survive. The thought of “you ain’t seen nothing yet” empowers me with the force of life to keep moving, and the assurance that allows me to rest knowing that this place, here, is preparing me for that place there.  

4. This Too Shall Pass

Nothing lasts forever. All things come to an end. My Momma used to tell me all the time, “When you’re at the end of your rope tie a knot and hang on.”  She would say, “This too shall pass.” 

When I get out of here, (when you get out of your here) and I (we) will, I’m (we’re) going to be better, stronger, faster, and wiser! 

Leave a Reply

