Higher Living, Humanity, Life Lessons, Out of the Box, Ponder

If Today Was All You Had?

If today was all I had, I wouldn’t worry about tomorrow for tomorrow would bring its own worries.

What if this life is for living this life?

If I truly knew that today was all I had, I would live in the fulness of today and let tomorrow worry about itself.

Some believe this life is all there is; I’m not one of them. I’ve seen too many people die not believe there is something on the other side. What? I won’t know until I get there. But what I do know is I shouldn’t use this life worrying about the next life.

Religion teaches you to prepare for the next life; to live like you’re dying. Religion preaches, you are not of this world, and that you should live separated in preparation or rehearsal for a “better life” in the next world.

If the next life is better than this life, why can’t we all just skip ahead to the next life avoiding this one all together? – Jeff Crume

If I am not of this world, why am I here? Some argue it’s to “rescue” as many people as I can for the next life. But if the next life is better than this life, why can’t we all just skip ahead to the next life avoiding this one all together?

If this life is to only prepare me for the next life, or at least give me a chance to live in such a way that’s required to gain entrance into the next life, what if I screw it up? What if I don’t measure up or meet the requirements?

Living for the next life is like living for tomorrow; what if tomorrow never comes? What life am I wasting today trying to live for tomorrow? After all, tomorrow’s tomorrow becomes today, so isn’t today all we really have?

What if you can’t live here like you will live there, and what if you can’t live there like you live here? What if this life is for living in the here and now and the next life is for living in the there and then?

What would YOU do with today if you knew its all you had?

Leave a Reply

