My Journey

What Would You Do Today If You Knew You Were Going To Die Tomorrow?

risk

We’ve all heard the songs, quips and quotes encouraging us to, “Live like you’re dying,” but I wonder how many of us actually implement that idea into our daily lives. What would you do today if you knew you were going to die tomorrow? 

Having been around death and dying for many years in my career as a Hospice Chaplain, I began challenging myself to put in to practice this idea of living like I’m dying so I wouldn’t have to wait until I found out I was dying to decide what I would do.

I Started Small:

I enjoyed my coffee and oatmeal on the front porch in the morning sun rather than in front of my computer. I would pause to take a few deep breaths throughout the day so I could remember, and enjoy, what breathing felt like. I wiggled my fingers and toes just to watch them move. I thought about what I was thinking about so I could remember what it felt like to think. I would say my name often, encouraging myself in the mirror, so I could remember who I really was.

I bought a bike rack for my car and took my bike to Coronado Island. I sat on the beach listening to the sound of the crashing waves. I walked my son to his classroom at school rather than just dropping him at the front. I sat with my wife just holding her without wanting anything from her. I slowed down on the freeway and let another driver who was in a hurry pass me by.

Life is simple. We are the ones who make it complicated: schedules, rehearsals, meetings, email, phone calls, selfies, text and posts; nonstop, 24/7, we are racing through life so that we can check that one off our bucket list. What if you lived without a list? What if life and death was not about DOING anything, but BEING everything?

It’s like the story of the man who was so busy he never had time to play with his son after work. The young boy finally asked his mom one day why his dad never took time to play with him. “Oh honey, your daddy is a VERY busy man. He has to go to work, plan his meetings, make his phone calls, and visit his customers, and by the time he gets home he’s exhausted. Daddy has to get something to eat, finish his paperwork, and get to bed so he can get his rest for the next day. Daddy just doesn’t have time to play with you.”

The little boy thought about it for a moment and then replied, “Why don’t they just put daddy is a slower group?”

What will you do when death serves you notice? Will you be able to say, “My departure is at hand, I have finished my race and ran my course?” Or will you wished you could go back and start over in a slower group?

What would you do today if you knew you were going to die tomorrow?

Share Your Thoughts Below

If you have a “Live like your dying day,” let our readers know how you spend your time. Maybe someone else could benefit from something that you’ve found that brings you great joy and satisfaction.

If you don’t have a live like your dying day, or have never even considered what you would do, take some time to think about it and then share a few things that you put on your list.

If you are dying, and today might be your last day alive, I would be honored to hear what you have discovered to be most meaningful in your life at this very moment.

What would you do today if you knew you were going to die tomorrow?

2 thoughts on “What Would You Do Today If You Knew You Were Going To Die Tomorrow?”

Leave a Reply

