Inspiration, Self-Help

How to Live Life to the Fullest

Live Life to the Fullest

When I get to the end of my life, I don’t want one ounce of energy or life left in me. I want to leave this planet empty. While I live in the here and now, I want to be; be all that I can be, do all that I can do, live all that I can live.

You see, I’ve been around death a good portion of my life. As a hospice chaplain and spiritual advisor, I’ve seen more people die, deteriorate, fight, hate, argue, lament, and commit suicide than I care to admit. I’ve channeled more negative energy than one can normally handle in a life time. But yet I remain. Not to my own credit, but the to credit of The One who created me.

You see, Mom may have given birth to me, but I was created long before I was born. “Before the foundation of the earth I knew you and purposed and ordained you for cause,” my Creator says about me. You were created for a cause. Your cause is not to die, but to live; and not just to live, but to live life to the fullest so you can leave life empty.

Feeling stuck? Wish you could change your life?

I invite you to go sit and hold the hand of a cancer patient who has been given five months to live. Sit by the bedside of someone with Alzheimer’s disease. Talk with someone who doesn’t remember you thirty seconds after you tell them your name. You will walk away with a deeper appreciation for every breath, every moment of clarity, every thought, and every heartbeat you have.

Do you have baggage?

Talk with someone who would gladly trade places with you; who wishes they could get back the life they’ve lived so they can “do it differently.” You have time to make right anything that is standing in your way. Make the phone call. Send the email. Take the trip. Let go of the hurt and pain. You will NEVER get today back; do something with it while you can. If not you, who? If not now, when?

I’ve helped the dying die. Now I help the living live.

Don’t go to your grave with your gift; explore it now. Live your gift to the fullest now while you have time. Life, as you know it, will come to a close. For some, maybe ten, twenty, maybe even forty more years down the road. For others, maybe tomorrow. What’s on the other side? We will all know the Truth one day. For now, life is too short, too precious, too rewarding for you not to try. Finish your book, start your business, raise your family, invent your invention, live your life to the fullest so you can leave life empty.

Leave a Reply

